*Changes to the Hurricane Bowl*

There will now be an A bracket only for the Hurricane Bowl. The Hurricane Bowl covers a large region reaching schools from MS, AL, LA, FL, TN and AR. Funding and space only allows for a limited number of teams to register. Because of the growing number of schools competing at the Hurricane Bowl, we have decided to drop the B bracket to accommodate as many schools as possible. 

However, a school may have the opportunity to bring a “B” team to compete in the A bracket if there are open spots by the end of the registration date.  In years past, we have allowed for teams to register by mid-December.  Because of the change, the registration deadline will be much earlier so that schools can be notified if their B team will be accepted and they can continue to prepare for the competition. 

As always, registration is first come first serve. If you have an A and B team, register both before the deadline.  Once we reach the deadline, you will be notified if your B team has been accepted. 

The registration deadline is TBA


Your contributions fund Mississippi Gulf Coast marine science field trip experiences and prizes for teams of high school students. Because of you, we engage students in programs like Shark Fest or a visit on the R/V Point Sur working with our USM GCRL team of scientific researchers and educators. 

Many Hurricane Bowl and NOSB student participants go on to pursue a college degree or future career in marine science.

The Hurricane Bowl is an annual ocean science academic competition. The Central Gulf Coast regional hosts up to 20 teams of the brightest high school students from Alabama, Arkansas, the Florida panhandle, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. Hurricane Bowl winners advance to the National Ocean Sciences Bowl competition.

These two programs encourage students to increase their knowledge and understanding
of the world’s oceans, inspiring many to become the next generation of marine scientists, policy makers, teachers, explorers, technicians, and ocean advocates. 
February 2, 2019
Gulf Coast Research Laboratory’s Marine Education Center
101 Sweetbay Drive
Ocean Springs, Mississippi


**2018 Results**

Congratulations to Oxford High School on a first place finish in A bracket and J. M. Tate on first place in B bracket!

A Bracket
1st — Oxford High school (MS)
2nd — Bayside Academy (AL)
3rd — East Union Attendance Center (MS)


B Bracket
1st — J. M. Tate (FL)
2nd — Oxford High School (MS)
3rd —  Ivy Academy (TN)


Important Dates


Registration forms are available on the Team Resources Page as pdf files. You may download them and type information directly into the forms and save the completed forms. Completed team registration forms can be emailed as pdf files to Aaron Lamey. Alternatively, you may send paper forms by USPS mail or a delivery service to the attention of Aaron Lamey, Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, 101 Sweetbay Dr., Ocean Springs, MS 39564. 

The deadline for registration is November 1, 2018. 

Schools may register a second team (Team B). We will accept a total of 18 teams, 12 A Teams and 6 B Teams. Each group will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Team Resources & More Information

GCRL's Team Resources Page offers an extensive set of sample questions and resources for background reading and study.

Check out the 2015 National Ocean Sciences Bowl:
GCRL and Ocean Springs also hosted the finals of the 2015 National Ocean Sciences Bowl. Teams from across the country competed in Ocean Springs from April 23 - 26, 2015 to determine the national championship.

2017 Results

Congratulations to Oxford High School on a first place finish in A bracket and East Union Attendance Center on first place in B bracket!

A Bracket
1st — Oxford High school
2nd — Bay St. Louis High School
3rd — Gulfport High School


B Bracket
1st — East Union Attendance Center
2nd — Navarre High School
3rd — J. M. Tate High School